Have you ever felt like you need to hide your Instagram followers? And you tried a lot but couldn’t find a way to do anything. That’s because Instagram doesn’t have such options that you can use and completely hide your followers. But there are some ways to hide them, and I have mentioned them in this article.
How to Hide Your Followers on Instagram
First, let’s answer can you hide your Instagram followers? The simplest answer is yes. But if you think there is a button that will let you hide followers, don’t make an effort then. That’s because Instagram never had such a button in the first place.
Sure, many users have claimed they have seen a few Insta accounts with only usernames but no followers, and the following count. I admit such accounts exist. Those are only Blue-tick accounts that have millions of followers. And Insta is testing its new security feature, allowing users to hide followers and following counts. But only a handful of users have access to that feature.
You shouldn’t try to access that feature if you are not one of them. Instead, you should consider what you can do about hiding your followers. What to do, then?
Make Your Insta Account Private
Instagram didn’t have such a feature till now that would let you hide your followers from everyone. Some users will see your followers no matter what you do. But if you make your account private, those who only follow you will be able to see your followers. Now, how to make your account private?
- Open your Instagram and go to your profile.
- In the top right corner, you will see three horizontal bars. Tap on that.
- Some options will appear. Tap on “Settings.”
- Again few options will appear. Tap on “Privacy.”
- You will now see the “Private Account” option and slider beside that option. Tap on the slider.
- A box will appear on your screen saying, “Switch to Private Account?” Tap on the “Switch to Private.”
You have successfully made your Insta account private. But what will you do then if you don’t want someone from your followers to see the list of your followers and followings?
Well, that’s simple. Remove that user or those users from your list. Since you removed them and your account is private, they won’t be able to see anything from you.
How to Remove People from Your Follower List?
- Go to Instagram and then your profile.
- Tap on the “Followers.”
- You will see all the users who follow you. And besides every user, you will also see an option “Remove.”
- Find the users you want to remove.
- Tap on “Remove.”
- You need to confirm your action by tapping on “Remove” again.
What are Instagram Followers?
I bet almost all Instagram users know what a follower is, but let me clear this to you all. An Instagram follower is a user who follows you on Insta. That particular user has access to your activities on this platform. That user can see your posts, stories, reels, and IGTV. That user can like, comment, and share their posts.
Many people are also confused with “Followers” and “Following,” and many think these are the same terms in Insta. But those are not. Followers mean those users who follow you on Insta. On the other hand, the following means those users who you follow.
How do I hide my followers from my following list?
Well, I have mentioned two of the most practical ways to hide your followers on Insta above. But what if you are an influencer, have a business account, or want more followers?
You can’t make your account private, then. Since no one besides your followers will be able to see your posts, stories, and photos. And if no one can see your posts and stories, how on earth will you promote business and get more followers?
In that case, you can block users so they can’t see your followers and your activities. Yes, if you block someone on Insta, they also won’t be able to see your follower or following list.
How to Block People on Instagram?
- Open Instagram and go to the profile of the user you want to block.
- You will see three dots in the top right corner of the profile. Tap on that.
- You will see many options, including “Block.”
- Tap on “Block.”
- To confirm your action, tap on “Block.”
You have successfully blocked the users and will no longer be able to see your follower or following lists along with your posts, stories, and reels. And this way, you can promote yourself and gain more followers.
Blocking users will prevent them from seeing your followers. But if they have other Insta accounts, you don’t know, and when they sign in, they will see your followers. But if your account is private, you are safe.
And since some users can hide their followers, it’s safe to assume Insta will introduce this feature shortly.